With second place in the 6 Hours of Fuji, won on Sunday by Russian Roman Rusinov alongside the British Alex Brundle and Will Stevens with the Oreca Nissan team G-Drive, Bruno Senna continues battle in the  LMP2 category – FIA WEC. The results in the Japanese circuit turned the final stages of next month in China and Bahrain in a hand to hand between the trio of Brazilian and leaders Gustavo Menezes, Nicolas Lapierre and Stephane Richelmi, who led the Alpine A460-Nissan Signatech Racing to the third step of the podium. In LMP1, Toyota made the party with the victory of local hero Kamui Kobayashi and its partners, Frenchman Stéphane Sarrazin and Mike Conway.

Bruno Senna at Fuji 2016

Although pleased with another excellent result and the performance of Ligier JS P2, in only the seventh race of the calendar, Bruno did not hide his irritation with the loss of a victory that seemed to view the final moments . Responsible for the last two rounds, Bruno maintained the advantage of just over two seconds on Stevens. Until … “With less than three laps, the Rebellion of the LMP1 came overtake me at Turn 10 and hurt me. He could have done without problem on the line, but ended up causing the Stevens entered stuck. There has not to hold . Under normal conditions, even with my set of tires already in the third round, I would not allow overtaking, “he said.

The 6 Hours of Fuji were one of the best events of the year. “It was interesting from start to finish. For the first time, had no yellow flag or full course yellow. Everyone accelerated strong from the start,”. Bruno also complained that the G-Drive’s victory has cost seven important points in particular fight with Signatech Racing. “We discount ten but the second only took three dots,” he said. Bruno’s team now have 38 points less than its competitors.

Fuji Results

1 – Roman Rusinov, Alex Brundle and Will Stevens, Oreca 05-Nissan
2 – Bruno Senna, Filipe Albuquerque and Ricardo Gonzalez, Ligier JS P2-Nissan
3 – Gustavo Menezes, Nicolas Lapierre and Stephane Richelmi, Alpine A460-Nissan
4 – Antonio Giovinazzi, Giedo Van der Garde and Sean Gelael, Ligier JS P2-Nissan
5 – Pipo Derani, Ryan Dalziel and Chris Cumming, Ligier JS P2-Nissan
6 – Jonny Kane and Lewis Williamson, Gibson 015S-Nissan
7 – Mathew Rao, Richard Bradley and Robeto Mehri, Oreca 05-Nissan
8 – Nicolas Minassian, Maurizio Mediani and Mikhail Aleshin, BR01-Nissan
9 – David Cheng, Ho-Pin Tung and Paul Loup Chatin, Alpine A4360-Nissan
10 – Vitaly Petrov, Kirill Ladygin and Victor Shaitar, BR01-Nissan


1 – Gustavo Menezes, Nicolas Lapierre and Stephane Richelmi, 171 points
2 – Bruno Senna, Filipe Albuquerque and Ricardo Gonzalez, 133
3 – Roman Rusinov, 112

source: presskit.br