Bruno Senna has been awarded the prestigious 2012 Lorenzo Bandini Trophy.

The award is a tribute to Lorenzo Bandini – the leading Italian driver at the time of his death in 1967 – and is organised by council of his home town of Brisighella. It is given to a driver in honour of their dedication to motor racing, spirit of competition and achievement, and is awarded on the basis of how results were achieved rather than the results themselves.

Since its inception in 1992 to mark the 25th anniversary of Bandini’s death, recipients of the trophy have included Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton, while Nico Rosberg was the 2011 winner. Williams has now announced that Senna will receive the award on July 15, with the winner traditionally driving the 12 kilometres from Faenza to Brisighella in a public display.

“It’s a great honour to receive the Lorenzo Bandini Trophy, particularly when you consider the excellent racing drivers that have been awarded it in the past,” Senna said. “I would like to thank the people of Brisighella for their kind support and generosity as well as all of those who have helped me in my career so far. I’m very much looking forward to the prize giving ceremony next month, which promises to be a great event.”

source: © ESPN EMEA Ltd.